top of page
  • Writer's pictureNIC

Melting Chocolate Globe Dessert



This week I was on leave so I decided I had to bake something for the blog. After some consideration I decided on something out of the ordinary…

I recently watched some MasterChef video’s on Facebook and in one competition they had to prepare a melting chocolate globe dessert. I was immediately fascinated by the idea and decided to try it myself. Mine didn’t look as good as theirs but the fun I had creating it made up for the looks. Lucky for me I wasn’t under as much pressure as they were in the competition and had some more time to prepare and assemble the desert (my family were the only ones waiting).

In the episode, one of the chefs couldn’t get her globe mould to work so she improvised and used a balloon to make the globe. As I wasn’t able to obtain a globe mould I decided to follow in her foot steps and use a balloon as well. The globes were not as round as a sphere but I still worked out perfectly.

For the brownies I used the recipe I always use to bake brownies. And it absorbed the caramel sauce making it ideal for this recipe! The strawberries had a touch of sourness that went perfectly with the sweetness of the desert.


It was so satisfying to pour the warm caramel sauce over the globe and watch it melt away. Each bite of brownie, ice cream, chocolate and strawberry was a sweet delight! I would definitely have been proud to present my desert to the judges so I used my family as the panel and the feedback were all positive (it had to be or next time they had to make their own desert lol).

If you ever have guests you want to impress, I would definitely recommend this dessert. Not only does it look exciting, the sweetness will tickle your tongue and it is easy to prepare and assemble.

Happy baking and I hope you will have as much fun with it as I did.


 

Recipe:

Ingredients


Globes

500 g chocolate


Brownie

310 g margarine

250 ml white sugar

375 ml treacle sugar

175 ml dark cocoa

Pinch of salt

500 ml flour

10 ml vanilla

5 eggs


Caramel sauce

250 ml white sugar

30 ml water

10 ml vanilla

¾ cup cream

Pinch of salt

30 ml butter


Assembly

Strawberries

Vanilla ice cream


Method:

Globes

1. Melt the chocolate by heating it in the microwave for 10 seconds at a time.

2. After each 10 seconds take it out and mix.

3. Fill balloons with water and dunk it a few times in the melted chocolate.

4. Place the balloons with the chocolate facing up in a muffin pan.

5. Place in the refrigerator until assembly.


Brownie

1. Preheat the oven to 180ËšC.

2. Melt the butter over low heat and add the sugar.

3. Let it simmer for 1 minute.

4. Mix in the cocoa, flour and salt.

5. Beat the eggs and vanilla together and mix into the batter as fast as you can.

6. Pour the batter into a pan sprayed with non-stick and bake for 20 minutes.


Caramel sauce

1. Add all the ingredients together in a pot.

2. Heat it up stir regularly.

3. Let it boil for a minute.


Assembly

1. Place the brownie on a plate with a high brim.

2. Scoop some ice cream unto the brownie and add a strawberry.

3. Place the globe over the brownie, ice cream and strawberry.

4. Place some strawberries around the globe.

5. Pour the warm caramel sauce over the globe and watch the magic happen.


Notes:

· Don’t make the globe too thick as it will not melt away.

· I made four globes with this recipe.

· I used strawberries but blueberries, raspberries, figs or cherries will also be delicious.

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page