top of page
  • Writer's pictureNIC

Fried Halloumi



I have seen fried halloumi on several restaurant menu’s but never had it before. When I recently browsed through some cheeses for a cheese platter I saw Halloumi and decided it is time to give it a try.

Halloumi is a semi-hard cheese which is produced from goat’s milk, sheep’s milk and sometimes also cow’s milk. The history on halloumi is quite intriguing. Click here form more about its origin.


Halloumi cheese is high in protein and calcium therefore many vegetarians use it as a substance for meat. The cheese have a very high melting point and therefore can be fried or grilled. I fried the halloumi together with some orange and white carrots and asparagus. I tried not to overcook my vegies so that they still had some crunch in them. I have also seen that they crumb the halloumi and then fry it, which looks scrumptious!

I was rather pleased with my arrangement of the halloumi and vegetables. I trust that you will enjoy the fried halloumi and vegies as much as I did!


 

Recipe:

Ingredients:

15 ml olive oil/avocado oil

Block of halloumi cheese

1 teaspoon sweet basil

Vegetables of choice (I used baby carrots and asparagus)


Method:

1. Pour the olive/avocado oil in a frying pan and heat it up.

2. Place the halloumi slices in the frying pan.

3. Fry the halloumi until brown.

4. In the same pan, fry the vegetables.

5. Arrange the halloumi and vegetables on a plate, add some drops of Worchester sauce to round it off.

6. Enjoy!



6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page