top of page
  • Writer's pictureNIC

Blueberry pancakes



I remember seeing people on several movies having blueberry pancakes for breakfast. So, when I recently came across blueberries at a reasonable price, I decided to put it to the test and make my own blueberry pancakes. And since I was on holiday and visiting my parents, I got to share the experience with them.

It was absolutely divine and I regret not trying it earlier on. Just looking at it made my mouth water. With every bite I imagined my family and myself in one of those movies, having a lovely blueberry pancake breakfast and a strong brewed coffee. Cutting through the pancakes with the juice of the berries flowing onto the plate gives a certain feeling of satisfaction.


I drizzled some fynbos honey over my pancakes for a little extra sweetness.

Fun fact about blueberries: I read on A Vogal’s Website that researchers have realised that blueberries improve memory and slow down cognitive problems caused by aging. This is due to the antioxidants in the berries. Furthermore, the Vitamin A in the berries protect your eyes from damage caused by oxygen and the sun.

I leave you with the recipe and hope that you also get to live your movie moment when you make your blueberry pancakes.



 

Ingredients:

375 ml flour

25 ml sugar

Pinch of salt

10 ml baking powder

5 ml baking soda

250 ml milk

2 eggs

65 ml butter

1 cup berries


Method:

1. Mix all the dry ingredients together in a bowl.

2. Melt the butter and whisk together the milk, eggs and butter.

3. Mix in the dry ingredients.

4. Fold the ¾ of the berries into the batter.

5. Scoop a spoon full into a pan and bake over low heat.

6. Flip over the pancake when bubbles start to form on top.

7. Serve with honey and the rest of the berries.


Notes:

When each pancake is done, I drizzled honey over, allowing the pancake to absorb it.


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page